TL;DR
Get business pricing on tools and workshop supplies
- Business-only prices and quantity discounts
- Tax-exempt purchasing
- Multiple users, one account, clear invoices
ToolGuyd reports that DeWalt has launched two compact 50-piece mechanics tool sets: a 1/4-inch model priced at $34 and a 3/8-inch model priced at $57 and up. The sets use different assortments and cases from DeWalt’s existing ToughCase-based mechanics sets; availability and several product specifications were not detailed in the report.
DeWalt has introduced two 50-piece compact mechanics tool sets, one built around a 1/4-inch drive and the other around a 3/8-inch drive, according to a report by ToolGuyd. The reported prices are $34 for model DWMT45422 and $57 and up for model DWMT45423, giving buyers two differently sized-drive options in a compact format.
The DWMT45422 is a 1/4-inch-drive set containing 50 tools and accessories. ToolGuyd describes its contents as including a compact ratchet, spinner handle and two extensions, alongside a selection of six-point sockets and hex bits. The tools are supplied in a molded case that the report says resembles older DeWalt accessory cases. ToolGuyd lists the set at $34.
The second set, model DWMT45423, also contains 50 tools and accessories but uses a 3/8-inch drive. ToolGuyd says it comes with a larger ratchet than the 1/4-inch model while retaining a compact, orderly layout. The report gives its price as $57 and up; it does not identify a single retailer or explain the price variation.
ToolGuyd characterizes the new sets as different from DeWalt’s existing ToughCase-based mechanics sets, describing the new products as having a more varied mix of tools and accessories. The source does not provide a full item-by-item inventory for either kit, so the exact socket sizes, bit types and other included pieces cannot be confirmed from the supplied information.
Two Drive Sizes, Two Price Points
The launch gives shoppers a choice between a smaller-drive 1/4-inch kit and a 3/8-inch kit with a larger ratchet, without requiring them to buy a larger mechanics set. The distinction may help buyers match a compact set to the types of fasteners and tasks they commonly handle, although the source does not provide performance testing or recommend either set for particular jobs.
The listed prices also position the two models at different entry points: $34 for the 1/4-inch set and $57 and up for the 3/8-inch set. Those figures are reported prices, not a verified comparison of value, and may vary by seller. For buyers considering a small kit for a vehicle, home workshop or occasional repairs, the contents and case format are likely to matter as much as the piece count.
The kits also add another option alongside DeWalt’s existing mechanics sets. Their reported assortment and case differ from the ToughCase-based products, meaning shoppers should compare the actual included tools rather than assuming that two sets with the same brand or similar piece counts contain interchangeable selections.
Popular right now

De'Longhi Stilosa Compact Manual Espresso Machine with Milk Frother

Hisense 40-Inch Class QD4SR Series Hi-QLED FHD Smart Roku TV (2026 Model)

KitchenAid Classic Series 4.5-Quart Tilt-Head Stand Mixer, Onyx Black
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
How the New Kits Differ
ToolGuyd says DeWalt continues to sell ToughCase-based mechanics tool sets, including a 25-piece set listed at Amazon. The two newly reported products are not described as replacements for those kits; the report presents them as separate options with a more mixed assortment of tools and accessories.
The supplied report focuses on the sets’ piece counts, drive sizes, selected components, cases and prices. It does not include a DeWalt press release, a complete specification sheet or direct confirmation from the manufacturer. ToolGuyd also discloses that it may earn an affiliate commission if readers buy through its links, a relevant detail when considering its product coverage and pricing references.
““You get a much bigger ratchet here – as you should with a 3/8″ set, but it still looks fairly compact and tidy.””
— ToolGuyd
Specifications and Store Availability
The supplied report does not state when the sets became available, which retailers stock them, or whether the listed prices are current across sellers. The 3/8-inch model’s price is given as $57 and up, without a retailer-by-retailer breakdown. It is also unclear whether the reported prices reflect regular pricing, a promotion or a particular date.
Other details remain unconfirmed in the material provided, including the complete contents of each set, individual socket sizes, the ratchets’ specifications, warranty terms and the dimensions or durability of the cases. ToolGuyd’s comments that the sets look compact and that the 1/4-inch kit appears to be a good value are editorial impressions; the report does not cite independent testing or a DeWalt statement confirming those assessments.
Check Listings for Full Contents
Shoppers interested in either model should check current retailer listings or DeWalt’s product information for availability, up-to-date pricing and a complete parts list. Comparing the included socket and bit sizes with an existing tool collection can help establish whether a new kit fills a gap or duplicates tools already owned.
Further confirmation could clarify the sets’ release timing, official specifications and how their cases and assortments compare with the older ToughCase-based kits. Until that information is available in the source material, the reported prices and descriptions remain the clearest details of the launch.
Key Questions
What are the two new DeWalt mechanics tool sets?
ToolGuyd reports two 50-piece sets: the 1/4-inch-drive DWMT45422 and the 3/8-inch-drive DWMT45423.
What prices did ToolGuyd report?
The report lists the 1/4-inch set at $34 and the 3/8-inch set at $57 and up. It does not specify a consistent retailer or explain the price range.
What tools are included in the 1/4-inch set?
ToolGuyd describes a compact ratchet, spinner handle, two extensions, six-point sockets and hex bits. The supplied report does not give a complete inventory or list socket sizes.
Are these replacing DeWalt’s ToughCase mechanics sets?
The report says DeWalt continues to sell ToughCase-based sets and describes the new kits as different options with a more mixed assortment. It does not say the older products are being discontinued.
When and where can buyers get the sets?
The supplied source does not specify a release date or confirmed retailer availability. Buyers should check current DeWalt and retailer listings for stock and pricing.
Source: toolguyd.com
